Bharatiya Janata Party

The first bar chart is a comparison of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) vote bank against total electors & voters polled. For better understanding
     1. Delayed election results of 1985 & 1992 were merged with respective years.
     2. The votes of BJP preceding parties BJS, JS, BLD & JNP were combined in the name of BJP.
After independence non congress parties were struggling to prove their existence till 1997. Bharatiya Lok Dal (BLD) came in to power and they have got 7 time higher votes (7.81 crore) compared to previous election. From them the vote bank of BJP is growing at a steady state and they have got 22.85 crore votes in 2019.

The second bar chart is a comparison of total seats won by BJP against the total seats contested. After the emergency period (1975-1977) BLD have got 295 seats and there was a sudden drop in 1980 & 1984 elections. From 1989 the numbers were grown at a considerable rate till 2019.

Major Milestones

(BJP was in Power from 1996 to 2004 & 2014 to 2019)

1951 - 1977: BJP is preceded by Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS).

1977 - 1980: BJP is preceded by Janata Party (JNP).

Formation of Janata Party (JNP):

1972: Samyukta Socialist Party (SSP) merged with PSP & PSP merged with JNP in 1977.

1972: Swatantra Party (SWA) merged with BLD & BLD merged with JNP in 1977.

1977: BJS (Bharatiya Jana Sangh) merged with several left, centre & right wing parties and formed JNP.

1977: Bharatiya Lok Dal (BLD) merged with JNP.

1977: Indian National Congress (Organisation) (INC(O)) merged with JNP.

1977: Praja Socialist Party (PSP) merged with JNP.

Formation of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP):

1980: India was under state of Emergency from 1975 to 1977. At the end of 1977, Janata Party (JNP) was formed as described above and it came to power under the leadership of "Morarji Desai". After 3 years in power JNP was dissolved in 1980 and the remaining members of BJS formed BJP in 1980. The founder of BJP is Atal Bihari Vajpayee & L.K. Advani.

1984 - 1995: L.K.Advani was the party leader.

1994 - 2008: Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the party leader.

1996: BJP came in to power and the government lasted only for 16 days due to lack of majority in lower house.

1998: After the General election in 1998, BJP formed National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is lead by BJP and came in to power and it lasted for only one year.

1999: In 1999 General Election again BJP came in to power and it was the first full majority non-congress government.

2009 - 2013: L.K.Advani was the party leader.

2013: Even though BJP is formed in 1984 from JNP, JNP was in function until 2013 and it merged with BJP.

2013: Narendra Modi was the party leader.

Report us for errors @