1996 Parliamentary Results

     1996 election resulted in a hung parliament and none of the leading parties/pre-poll alliances were able to prove their single majority. The below alliance table has the complete details of pre-poll alliances.

After the election a new third front was formed by National Front parties. The new third front alliance was named as United Front, which consist of National Front parties, Left Front parties, Tamil Manila Congress, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagham, Asom Gana Parishad & few other minor parties.

At first, BJP was given a chance to prove its majority under the leadership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee and it failed. The government was formed by the Third Front under the leadership of H.D. Deve Gowda with the support of Indian National Congress (INC) and this government lasted for less than a year. INC supported the National Front again, but with the new leadership of I.K. Gujral and it lasted for less than a year.

Out of 59.25 crore electors, the voter turns out was 34.33 crores,which is calculated to a polling percentage of 57.94%.
6.79 crore have chosen BJP, which is 21.68% more compared to 1991 election.
9.65 crore voters have chosen INC, which is 4.7% less compared to 1991 election.
2.70 crore voters have chosen JD, which is 16.9% less compared to 1991 election.

Report us for errors @ contactus@indiaelectiondata.in