Overview of Elections in Jharkhand:

Ruling Parties:

     Jharkhand was formed in the year 2000 after seperation from Bihar. The first legislative assembly of Jharkhand was constituted based on the year 2000 Bihar Legislative election. Jharkhand had hung assembly until 2014. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got a single-party majority in the 2014 state assembly elections allowing for a stable govt from 2014.

Indian Nation Congress (INC) never had a chance to rule this state. BJP & Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is the two parties ruled the state. BJP & JMM were the 2 parties that ruled the state till now.

BJP ruling periods: 2000-2003, 2003-2005, 2005-2006, 2010-2013 & 2014-2019
JMM ruling periods: only 10 days in 2005 & 5 months in 2008-2009
Independent Candidate: 2006-2008
President’s rule: 11 months in 2009, 3 months in 2010 & 5 months in 2013

Legislative Constituency (LC):

There are 81 legislative constituencies in Jharkhand from 2005.

Electors & voters:

If you look at the bar chart (Electors/Voters), the electors have grown by 1.57% in the year 2009 & 15.56% grown in the year 2014.
The average polling percentage of Jharkhand falls at 60.2%, which is approximately 0.2% higher when compared to India’s average polling percentage of 60%.

Vote Bank:

BJP, INC & JMM were taken into consideration for this “Vote Bank” / “Vote Share” line chart of Jharkhand. It is clear that the BJP & JMM are growing parallel and INC is struggling.

Male & Female voters:

There are up and down in male voting percentage, but the female voting percentage is growing steadily and they have crossed male voters in 2014. It shows women in Jharkhand have started showing more social responsibility.

The average percentage of male voters is calculated to 62.3%, which is 2.3% higher when compared to India’s average polling percentage of 60%. The average percentage of female voters is calculated to 57.7%, which is 2.3% lower when compared to India’s average polling percentage of 60%.

Report us for errors @ contactus@indiaelectiondata.in